top of page
Search
  • Jessy Doan

Pasta and cheese, YUM!

This blog will cover the 8th and 9th day of my trip.


It's our second day in Bologna, Italy and I could not be more excited for today's schedule because we get to see the making of fresh pasta and eat it!


First off, we had a tour of Bologna. The city if very populated with students because of the university that is there. I also witnessed a couple protests going on during the night time and it was pretty huge considering cops blocked off the area.



For the pasta class, we went to Cantina Bentivoglio. The pasta maker taught us how pasta was made. From the ingredients to the kneading of the dough. She then flattened it out with a roller until it was tin enough to see through the pasta. She then had demonstrated how certain pastas were shaped and one of them was tortellini. Tortellini is a special pasta to bologna so it was awesome seeing how it was created. Some students were able to learn how to form a tortellini too.



Finally, we eat!


Overall, the food was fantastic! I was able to eat freshly made pasta and the spinach pasta that is special to Bologna. I really enjoyed the food in Bologna and I wish to return again in the future.


 

Today is the 9th day in Italy and basically my last day before I head off to Houston again tomorrow. Before we got to Milan, we stopped at a cheese factory in Parma. We had the chance to see the process of making parmagiano reggiano in large quantities. It was very awing to see how much cheese they had stored in their fridge because many of them were sitting there since 2008!


Before we left, we had the opportunity to try the parmagiano reggiano in different stages. The younger the cheese was saltier and a lot more chewy, but the older cheese got less salty and a bit more drier and crumbly. Fun fact: After two years, parmagiano reggiano is lactose-free!



We had a few hours to spend in Milan and I got the final opportunity to buy some final gifts to bring back. Once I stepped foot in Milan, I could definitely tell it was the fashion capital because of all the stores that were surrounding the area. There was just luxury stores EVERYWHERE!



That's all I have from Italy! It was a wonderful trip and it was even better with the students that were on this trip with me. I really loved it here and I hope I'll be able to return again in the future.


Tomorrow I fly back home, so there's nothing more to document. This is the last post and my last goodbye from Italy, I hope you enjoyed my posts! :)


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page