top of page
Search
  • Jessy Doan

To Cuneo

Today is my 4th day in Italy and 2nd day in Cuneo. We headed to a family owned farm that is famously known for its cheese. Even though it’s a very small farm, people from all over the world custom order their cheese at this place.


The owner gave us a tour of the cheese factory and how they’re made and stored. We were also able to see the cows, pigs, and chickens that were on the farm. The best part is that the pigs eat the left overs of the cheeses’ “liquid waste” so that it’s not dumped into the land or drainage. As a result, the pigs eat a healthy meal that gives them plenty of nutrients.



After the tour, we walked down the road into the village area where his restaurant was located. The two-story house was transformed into a restaurant with big windows to let the sunlight in (awesome view!). This meal was the biggest and most filling of all throughout the trip. TEN COURSES! And it only costs less than €30 to get this whole entire meal. I couldn’t believe it, considering it’s also farm-to-table.



After the meal, he let us try samples of his cheese products and boy was that HARD. I loved the ones with the sweet wine and rose infusions, but the rest were just too strong in taste for me. Especially the blue cheese, nope. I already tried it once in the US so I’m not sure why I pushed myself to try it but the aftertaste stayed in my mouth and almost made me sick.


Our last stop of the day was the Banca del Vino (Bank of Wine). We were given a tour of the bank and learned some history regarding the place itself and how it came to be. Glasses of wine were also given to us to try.



Honestly, this was one of the best days so far! The farm was very exciting to see and the process behind everything done there was well planned. I love it so much I want to come back!!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page